turkey day and the thin
2003-11-27, 8:14 p.m.

Thanksgiving is a horrible holiday. it should be banned. First I was forced to deal with my aunt and cousin coming over. I smiled and did all that nice stuff for them. My sister and her boyfriend came over as well, but that was nice. My aunt is kind of a tripper. My brother just got home a couple days ago. I'm kind of worried about him. He seems depressed and so distant. He always has been quiet but he has been even worse lately. You can barely get two words out of him and I tihnk he might flunk out of school. He's so smart so you know it's more then that. Anyways, my mom rambled in her craziness and I threw up my food. I dealed.

I left for my sister's boyfriends to get away from the cheeriness of my aunt and how embarresing my mom was. Luckily I could tell everyone I already ate so I picked at a small meal. It was a bit awkward because I knew no one there. I stuck to my sister and tried to be friendly. But thanksgiving is always like that. A large gathering of people you don't know, being uncomfortable, and wanting to go home.

I was so cold the whole time. I was so irritated by hearing half the people there say "get some fat on you!" "you're so thin!" "you're so pale!" "you need to fatten yourself up!" "you are so cold because you're so tiny" I smiled politely, kind of went "ha ha ha..." but inside i was screaming "SHUT UP!". Why is it unacceptable to make comments about people who are overweight in the slightest, and most defiently very overweight, but you can freely throw comments about the thin? In the past I've gotten comments like:

"all you eat is salads, huh? you're like, really healthy or something."

"i wish i was thin as you"

"mel you're too thin. it's kind of too thin"

"gain some weight!"

LEAVE ME ALONE! STOP COMMENTING ON WHAT I EAT, HOW I LOOK, AND JUST LEAVE ME ALONE.

prev/next